

Visitor Industry Luncheon-Past Award Recipients

2024

- •First Impression Attraction: Allison Weiland, State Theatre
- •First Impression Hotel: Trisha Lux, Glo Best Western
- •First Impression Restaurant: Lynette Ingalls, 22TEN Kitchen Cocktails
- •First Impression Retail: Kelly Woldt, Simply Perfect
- •Heart of the City Award: Jon Thum, Chief of Police, Sioux Falls
- •Business Award: Washington Pavilion
- Special Award: Alex Jensen, Retiring City Councilor
 Special Award: Pat Starr, Retiring City Councilor
- Special Award: Marshall Selberg, Retiring City Councilor
- Special Award: Greg Neitzert, Retiring City Councilor

- •First Impression Attraction: Dave Oswald, DTSF Green & Clean Team
- •First Impression Attraction: Martin Dill, DTSF Green & Clean Team
- •First Impression Hotel: Val Carman, ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
 •First Impression Restaurant: Dawn Wynthein, The Original Pancake House
- •First Impression Retail: Greg Koch, 605 Running Company
- •Heart of the City Award: Jeff Scherschligt
- •Heart of the City Award: Craig & Pat Lloyd •Business Award: Riccardo & Marybeth Tarabelsi

- •First Impression Attraction: Allyson Kasch, Washington Pavilion
- •First Impression Hotel: Zane Lodmell, Hampton Inn Sioux Falls
- •First Impression Restaurant: Stevie Zeller, Look's Marketplace
- •First Impression Retail: Stacey and Leslie Malmgren, Love Marlow
- •Heart of the City Award: Jackie Tuschen, Avera
- •Business Award: Thunder Road

2019

- First Impressions Award: Tyler Larson, Holiday Inn City Centre
- Heart of the City Award: Mike Cooper (Ret.), City of Sioux Falls
- Business Award: The Outdoor Campus

- First Impressions Award: Julie Coleman, Best Western PLUS Ramkota Hotel
- Heart of the City Award: Frank Gurnick, Dakota Alliance Soccer Club
- Business Award: Wes Eisenhauer Photography
- Special Star Award: Pheasant Fest
- Special Award: Rex Rolfing, Retiring City Councilor
- Special Award: Michelle Erpenbach, Retiring City Councilor
- Special Award: Mayor Mike Huether, Retiring Mayor
- Special Award: Governor Dennis Daugaard, Retiring Governor

- First Impressions Award: Butch Reinesch, Sanford Health
- Heart of the City Award: Thea Miller Ryan, The Outdoor Campus
- Business Award: Fernson Brewing Company
- Media Award: Argus Leader/Sioux Falls Business Journal, Keloland, KDLT, KSFY, KTTW, Life 96.5, Midco Sports Network, Midwest Communications, Results Radio, Sioux Falls.Business, and South Dakota Public Broadcasting
- Special Star Award: Evan Nolte, former President & CEO of the Sioux Falls Area Chamber of Commerce

- First Impressions Award: Don South, Strawbale Winery
- Heart of the City Award: Cindy Walsh and Tom Walsh, Sr., Dakota King/GreatLIFE
- Business Award: CH Patisserie, Chris Hanmer
- Media Award: Jack Taylor, KELO Radio
- Special Star Award: Tom Douple, Summit League Commissioner
- Special Star Award: The 2016 Augustana Men's Basketball Team

2015

- First Impressions Award: Brenda Dinsmore, Bagel Boy
- Heart of the City Award: Terry Torkildson, Denny Sanford PREMIER Center
- Business Award: Sioux Falls People for Youth
- Media Award: Cory Myers, Argus Leader

2014

- First Impressions Award: Tracy Kolb, Hampton Inn
- Heart of the City Award: Dan Radigan, KarmelKorn, Dairy Queen, Orange Julius
- Business Award: Scheels All Sports
- Media Award: Results Radio/Townsquare Media
- Special Award: Jim Entenman, Retiring City Councilor
- Special Award: Sue Aguilar, Retiring City Councilor
- Special Award: Carol Nugteren, Retiring CVB Registration Staff

<u> 2013</u>

- First Impressions Award: Stephanie Ovall, Sioux Falls Convention Center
- · Heart of the City Award: Jan Grunewaldt, Best Western PLUS Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
- Business Award: Josh Thomas, Eastway Bowl
- Media Award: Jodi Schwan, Sioux Falls Business Journal
- Special Award: Chad McKenzie, Results Radio/TownSquare Media
- Special Award: Jerry Dahmen, Results Radio/TownSquare Media

2012

- First Impressions Award: Jesse Johnson, Red Roof Inn
- Heart of the City Award: Jim Woster
- Business Award: Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove
- · Media Award: Rob Swenson, Sioux Falls Argus Leader/Business Journal retired
- Special Award: Vernon Brown, former Sioux Falls City Councilor

2011

- First Impressions Award: Tony Kranz, National Car Rental
- Heart of the City Award: Carole Pagones
- Business Award: Siouxland Heritage Museums
- Media Award: Argus Leader

2010

- First Impressions Award: Dominique Campagna, Comfort Inn South
- Heart of the City Award: Tim & Nancy Nicolai, Arena Motel
- Business Award: Great Plains Zoo & Delbridge Museum of Natural History
- Media Award: Lloyd Cunningham, Argus Leader (retired)
- Special "Star" Award: University of Sioux Falls Football Team (for bringing national recognition to the city of Sioux Falls)

2009

- First Impressions Award: Glenn Winningham, Homewood Suites
- · Heart of the City Award: Jim Clark, SculptureWalk
- Business Award: Sioux Falls Jazz & Blues Society
- Media Award: Results Radio/Cumulus Media
- · Great Partner Award: Mayor Dave Munson, Dykhouse/First Premier Bank & Kelby Krabbenhoft, Sanford Health

2008

- First Impressions Award: Joy Ehlers, The Empire Mall
- Heart of the City Award: Jim Entenman, J & L Harley-Davidson
- Business Award: J & L Harley-Davidson
- Media Award: Jerry Dahmen, KXRB Radio
- Great Partner Award: Bob Jamison, Retiring City Councilor
- Special Recognition Plaque: Sanaa's 8th Street Gourmet was recognized for being South Dakota's first certified "Green Restaurant"

2007

- Outstanding Service Award to a Front-Line Employee: Brian Johnson, Fairfield Inn
- Friend of Tourism Award: Thea Miller Ryan, The Outdoor Campus
- Sioux Falls Most Visitor Friendly Business Award: Washington Pavilion of Arts & Science
- Media Award: Rob Swensen, Sioux Falls Business Journal

2006

- Outstanding Service Award to a Front-Line Employee: Bernie Larson, Holiday Inn City Centre
- Friend of Tourism Award: Russ DeCurtins, SMG Sioux Falls Arena
- Sioux Falls Most Visitor Friendly Business Award: Holiday Inn Express
- Media Award: Chad McKenzie, KSOO Results Radio/Cumulus Media
- Great Partner Award: Rich Murphy, City of Sioux Falls

2005

- · Outstanding Service Award to a Front-Line Employee: Cathy Zepeda, Washington Pavilion of Arts & Science
- Friend of Tourism Award: Sioux Falls Police Department
- Sioux Falls Most Visitor Friendly Business Award: Thunder Road Family Fun Park
- Media Award: KSFY TV

<u>2004</u>

- Outstanding Service Award to a Front-Line Employee: Rick Albrecht, Homewood Suites
- Friend of Tourism Award: Mayor Dave Munson
 Sioux Falls Most Visitor Friendly Business Award: Wild Water West Waterpark
- Media Award: Midcontinent Radio

<u>200</u>3

- Outstanding Service Award to a Front-Line Employee: Robert Norro, Sheraton Hotel/ Sioux Falls Convention Center
- Friend of Tourism Award: Tom Bosch, Holiday Inn City Centre
 Sioux Falls Most Visitor Friendly Business Award: J & L Harley-Davidson

- Outstanding Service Award to a Front-Line Employee: Nelva Vander Plaats, Holiday Inn Express
- Friend of Tourism Award: Sylvia Henkin
- Most Creative "National Tourism Week Promotion" Award: Sheraton Hotel

- Outstanding Service Award to a Front-Line Employee: Val Carman, Best Western Ramkota Hotel
- Friend of Tourism Award: Don McLaughlin, The Empire Mall
- Most Creative "National Tourism Week Promotion" Award: Best Western Ramkota Hotel